I’d Like To Buy The World A Coke…but I’m a cheap college student

I call my soft drinks “pop”. I currently live in Wisconsin and everyone around me calls it “soda.” It seems like a weekly occurrence that someone, somewhere on campus brings up the pop/soda difference (same goes for bubbler/drinking fountain/water fountain). Regardless of what you call it, Coke is Coke. The Coca-Cola brand has been around for over 100 years and over 1.7 billion servings are sold daily.

What I like about Coke is that it is a brand that has stuck to its mission since the beginning. Their mission is: to refresh the world, inspire moments of optimism and happiness, create value and make a difference, and it can it be recognized in their advertising campaigns.

Here is my favorite campaign:

It may be older but it continues to make me smile every time I watch it. What makes this campaign so successful for the brand is that it really does create happiness and makes a difference – two things they value in their mission. Created in early 1970’s when the country wasn’t big on diversity, this advertisement feeds off of the need for diversity and includes nearly every nationality. It also has a great message: I’d like to teach the world to sing, in perfect harmony.

Fast-forward to the 1990’s and Coke still uses this campaign:

I think this campaign is such a success for the brand because it is very simple. It is literally reusing the actors/song/setting for the second commercial. The happiness created in the first advertisement is again seen in here, as well as the diversity. I think the great thing about this second one is that it is featuring the next generation as well, which is playing off of Coke “refreshing the world.” A brand is an experience, and what I experience when viewing these advertisements is happiness and inspiration. Not only does the catchy song get stuck in my head and make me think about Coke, but the pure joy expressed in these advertisements makes me want to go out a buy a Coke right away.

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’d Like To Buy The World A Coke…but I’m a cheap college student

  1. Joshlyn Ross says:

    Diversity is necessary in order for a brand to survive in this multi-cultural society. Great analysis!

Leave a Reply

