What The Oscar Mayer Weinermobile and Birthday Cake Oreos Have In Common

In an age where nearly every idea is copied, innovation is crucial for a brand to be recognized as fresh and modern. Through the years many companies have had this same idea of innovation and their new products/services/deals have continued to make their brands flourish. Some are a little crazy, but that might just be what our new-idea-driven society feeds on. Here are some of my favorite brands providing new opportunities to consumers:

  • Birthday Cake Oreos: The Oreo brand recently celebrated its 100 year anniversary! How did they celebrate? With a birthday party of course. The cookie company got creative and made limited-edition Birthday Cake Oreos. Oreo not only spread the word that it’s celebrating 100 years of being one of the most eaten cookies, they’re also showing appreciate to consumers by continuing to provide them with new opportunities, even if it’s as small as a new flavor.
  • The Crayola crayon scented perfume: I hope everyone remembers what it was like to open a box of Crayola Crayons and smell the waxy scent. In appreciation of their customers, Crayola created a way to share the childhood scent with everyone. Obviously Crayola doesn’t specialize in beauty products, but was innovative and created a product completely out of its element. I’m not saying I would like to smell like a crayon all the time, but I think it’s a perfect example of how a brand needs to be creative for their consumers.
  • The Oscar Mayer Weinermobile: I’ll first let you all know I’m singing the Oscar Mayer jingle in my head as I write this.It’s just so catchy. What I love about this brand is that it is so successful, without even thinking about their hotdogs. The birth of the Oscar Mayer Weinermobile was so innovative that it took the brand to a whole new level. There are whistles (a childhood dream gift for Neil in The Santa Claus) and there is the infamous mobile. I don’t know how many there are, but I’ve had the pleasure of seeing the Weinermobile numerous times in my life. (I even saw it on campus a few weeks ago!) I think this is great because it gives great recognition for the brand, without screaming “Buy Me!”

Overall, brands that want to succeed need to make sure they have new, fresh ideas. While the Oscar Mayer Weinermobile is on the more extreme end, something as simple as having a Birthday Cake Oreo or “Flavor of the Month” shows appreciation for the brands and appreciation for the consumers who have helped make the brands what they are today.

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What The Oscar Mayer Weinermobile and Birthday Cake Oreos Have In Common

  1. I love the cool new colors of Oreos! The orange cream for Halloween and the red cream for Christmas. They are the best! I never really ate Oreos until they started changing the colors.

  2. Living Simpretty says:

    Follow my new blog 🙂 http://alexofferdahl.wordpress.com/

    Thanks dear!

Leave a Reply

