So I’ve Started To Create My Personal Brand – Now What?

My parents always told me not to brag about myself but in the competitive world we live in today, I feel the only way I can get myself noticed is to brag. I think a great way to brag without sounding conceited and full of myself is through creating my own brand. I’ve said it before, I’m no expert, but my passion for branding and strong opinions on marketing campaigns can help me create my own identity.

New to the blogging world, I never expected to make so many connections with individuals that have the same passion as I do. Like myself, they want to share their passion and ideas with the rest of the blogging world. These connections are teaching me things about branding that I would have never known, but are also teaching me things about my personal brand. Searching to decide how I want to be recognized in the world, I ask myself – “Now what?”

During a social media class this semester, I had to pleasure of sitting in during a Skype interview with Hubspot Marketing Consultant and Craft Beer Blogger Sarah Bedrick (@sbedrick and www.sarahbedrick.com). She gave me many tips to use to get my name out and get my brand noticed. Something as simple as buying my own domain name is one of the  tips that she gave (brilliant, seeing as Amanda Burke seems almost as common as Joe Smith) and I’ll definitely have to invest more time researching the idea.

Sarah inspired me to take control of my own brand. As I am just starting out in this strange process of personal branding, I obviously have time to perfect it and decide how I want the world to see “Amanda Burke.” If I don’t take control of my brand, someone else will, which is scary, seeing as there are some strange people in the world. I’m in control of myself and, with branding and taking advice from others, I hope to show the world who Amanda Burke is.

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding, Personal Branding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So I’ve Started To Create My Personal Brand – Now What?

  1. Randy Bowden says:

    Good luck with your efforts and keep posting!

  2. Sarah says:

    Amanda! I love this post – and the layout of your site! Plus, what a huge honor to have a mention!

    Keeping up with your personal branding is a great way to be excited to learn about branding’s latest trends, who the key players are, and also help you to build relationships with new people and potential job seekers!

    Keep up the good work!

    Oh and if you’re lucky enough – you may even be approached to write a book someday about something you blog and are passion about. This is very common for today’s online thought-leaders (who were once in your shoes). This very recent post comes to mind: http://bit.ly/xtZ9f1.

    Best of luck – and as Randy said “keep posting!”

Leave a Reply

