Helpful Tips on What To Do in This Crazy World We Call “Personal Branding”

Everyone has some type of a personal brand – whether it be an aspiring actress, a corporate businessman or a couch potato, these individuals strive to embody the brands that best represents themselves. Over the past couple of weeks, while finishing final projects and starting my current internship, I’ve learned to hone in on my personal brand to correctly tell people who am I and what I intend to do with my brand. Here are some things that I have learned and hope will help other individuals struggling to perfect their brand:

  • A brand is more than a your major/expertise: yes, it’s important to brand yourself as an expert in your field of interest, but your brand is so much more than that. Your brand should tell people what you believe – your morals, values and beliefs. For example, I brand myself as a “brander” (yeah, a brand in branding, how original). Aside from a brander, I am passionate about the industry, I believe hard work and perseverance are crucial to getting a job done, and I value trust, honesty and teamwork. Let your peers see there’s more to you than what is down on paper, and own those qualities of your brand.
    Image

    My Personal Logo

  • Match the brand you say you are: Basically, don’t lie. You can’t tell people you’re an up-and-coming fashionista if you are really still stuck in the 80’s style. Don’t brand yourself as a hard worker if you do the bare minimum work to finish a project and turn in sub-par work. If you say you’re something, you better be able to back it up.
  • Make sure you share your brand: For once it’s good to talk about yourself. There’s no use in having a brand if you’re not going to share it with people. Utilize all different platforms, from social media (like Twitter, Facebook, a blog, etc.) to something as simple as a logo (this is GREAT to put on a business card, your resume or your personal website!). Brag about your accomplishments and show your peers you mean business.
  • Have a purpose: Share what makes your brand unique and what the purpose of your brand is. Yes, you can brand yourself as a role play gaming-junkie, but why is it important and what does it mean to others?

I hope these tips give you more insight in what goes into creating your personal brand. If you stay true to who you are, creating your personal brand will be easy. Once you decide what you truly want to be recognized as, honing in on what makes you unique and what you can bring to the table will help you create a stronger brand. Thank you for reading!

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helpful Tips on What To Do in This Crazy World We Call “Personal Branding”

  1. Good post, spot on!

Leave a Reply

