Hats Off To Moms At The 2012 London Olympic Games

I’m sure like most of you, when I’m not stuck at work or sleeping, my life is consumed by watching the 2012 London Olympics. Although the 15-year-old athletes make me feel like I have accomplished nothing in my lifetime, the strength of American pride both on and off the screen make the Olympics that much more exciting to watch. Naturally, in a situation where the entire world is watching the same program, commercial spots are a crucial way in promoting a brand. The lucky brands, like McDonalds, Visa, and Coca-Cola get great brand recognition because they get to sponsor the events, and have been doing so for years. The not-so-lucky brands, like Nike, have to use guerilla marketing to get their brand noticed. All these brands are doing great jobs not only promoting themselves, but the athletes, the Olympics and country pride. Yet, I think Procter and Gamble are going above-and-beyond their sponsorship and have really created a really amazing Olympics branding campaign for themselves.

Why?: Procter and Gamble has used its “Thank You Mom” to promote its brand on a whole new level. Procter and Gamble knows it’s not a sports company, and it hasn’t ever really been associated with sports. But Procter and Gamble knows that behind every athlete, whether a Little League pitcher or an Olympian, there is a proud mom cheering them on. For once, an Olympic sponsor is not focusing on the athletes themselves, but what really got the athletes there in the first place: their mothers. I believe this is smart because the Proctor and Gamble brand produces everyday products, used by everyday people, like Olympian mothers. What’s great about this branding campaign is that it can be used longer than the duration of the Olympics because mothers will be there every single day. So hats off to you Procter and Gamble, your branding campaign is inspiring and is one that has made a big impression on me.

View one of Procter and Gamble’s newest commercials:

To learn more about the Procter and Gamble “Thank You Mom” campaign, you can visit the “Thank You Mom” website here or you can follow the “Thank You Mom” campaign on Twitter at @ThankYouMom

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

