I’m Not Gonna Teach You How To Clap, Sing and Bounce Simultaneously, But I Will Teach You What Sorority Recruitment Taught Me About Personal Branding

It’s that time of the year again – sorority recruitment. With the chaos of finding matching outfits, getting girls to clap, sing and bounce simultaneously and constantly talking to girls for what seems like eternity, I only now have stopped to think that we, too, are branding ourselves. This post won’t be on how a sorority can brand itself (believe me, I wouldn’t even want to read something like that) I have learned a couple things through this recruitment process that I feel can improve a personal brand.

  • Be Memorable: As I mentioned above, during recruitment girls are in constant conversation for almost 8 hours a day. I’m obviously not going to remember every single girl that I talk to. The ones I do remember? The memorable ones. We had out-of-the-box conversations that really catered to what I wanted to talk about, not to what I wanted to hear. Too many times I feel like professionals are trying to please everyone and their personal brand is generic and not trying to be out-of-the-box. I think a way to build a great personal brand and have it remembered is by being different and memorable.

    Sorority Recruitment

    Sorority Recruitment Picture

  • Remember That You Represent Your Personal Brand Everywhere You Go – You Never Know Who You’re Going To Run Into: Some days I don’t feel like getting out of bed, let alone getting actually dressed and doing my hair. Those days that I wish sweats and a messy bun are an acceptable outfit to wear to class, I have to stop and remember that wherever I am, I’m representing myself. If a professor sees me constantly in sweats and seeming like I don’t care about my appearance, he’s going to think I’m lazy and don’t care about being in the class. This goes the same for the way I act and the way I speak. If you brand yourself as a professional, act like it. At this period in my young adult life, I am constantly meeting new people that could be my potential employers. If they’re walking behind me one day and I’m acting like a moron, I just blew a potential opportunity.
  • Brag: This last point might seem cocky, but in reality, maybe being a little cocky isn’t such a bad thing. If you helped a company land their huge new client, work that accomplishment into your personal brand. If you raised a large amount of money to donate to charity, use your personal brand to tell others that you’re philanthropic. Instead of saying “I’m successful” start saying “I’m successful because…” You’re giving people examples of why you’re so great instead of just using a generic statement.

I know I’ve been on a hiatus for a while due to moving back to school and starting recruitment, but have no fear! I’ll soon be back to posting regular bi-weekly posts on my thoughts about branding. Thanks all for your support and have a happy Wednesday!

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding, Personal Branding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment