Expanding Awareness of Your Brand’s Position through PSAs: A Look at AT&T’s “It Can Wait” Campaign

If you haven’t seen any of the AT&T “It Can Wait” commercials, I strongly recommend you view them here. It’s obvious that texting and driving has become a national problem, especially with the younger population, and it’s great to see a company speaking up and urging people to take action. I think the “It Can Wait” PSA is great because it shows AT&T wants a public change on the views of texting and driving, and it is building awareness that the AT&T brand truly cares about the well-being of their customers. Here are some reasons I think this campaign stands out and accomplishes its mission:

  • It Uses Stories From Real People: Using videos of real people in real situations instills a fear of texting and driving. Specifically, seeing how a sister died or a man had to go through physical therapy because of one text shows how easy it is to get hurt. Viewing the last texts before the accident, like “yeah” and “where r” are also helpful because they are simple text messages and viewing these would make more of an impact than a text that reads like a novel.
  • Famous Teen Stars Are Featured Taking The Pledge: There’s no doubt the campaign is really aimed towards the younger populations. So, the use of famous teens enhances the campaign because the younger generation idolizes and imitates teen stars. Teens think they’re invisible and their “it-won’t-happen-to-me” mentality includes accidents via texting and driving. AT&T does a great job of incorporating teen stars like Victoria Justice, Gabby Douglas and Ryan Beatty into the PSA to urge the younger generation to take pledge.
  • It Allows Everyone To Get Involved: The “It Can Wait” website has enabled users to post their own stories and encourage others to take the pledge. It also allows people to get involved through social media by posting statuses through Facebook and Twitter, telling others to take it. I think involvement in this campaign is crucial because people aren’t going to take the pledge unless others do. Once they see other teens like them taking the pledge and getting involved, they’re more likely to get involved themselves. It creates a sense of community.

It’s hard to get teens to listen. They think they can do anything and there are no implications. The reason I think this campaign is successful is because it’s really aimed towards teens and shows them that texting and driving is serious and that it does happen to people. Overall, AT&T did a great job showing consumers they care about the lives of their customers and, therefore, builds a great recognition and association for the brand.

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Branding, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

