Dear Burson-Marsteller, This is Why I Make the Perfect #HBSI2013 Candidate

For my readers that don’t know, Burson-Marsteller is hosting a Twitter competition where young, eager public relations professionals have their chance to win an interview for the Harold Burson Summer Internship Program of 2013 (hence, the #HBSI2013 hashtag). This competition is a great opportunity for these professionals to explain to Burson-Marsteller why they are the best candidates for this opportunity. Although I’m sure my 140 character tweets suffice in explaining why I believe I’m an ideal candidate, I want to take this opportunity to go into further detail; something Twitter doesn’t allow me to do. To the recruiters and employees of Burson-Marsteller responsible for conducting the #HBSI2013 competition, thank you for taking the time to read this post, and thank you for this incredible opportunity.

Just like the recruiters of Burson-Marsteller, I’ve been keeping up with the #HBSI2013 tweets, and all the candidates seem to be using the same descriptors: ambitious, driven, hard-working, dedicated, creative. Obviously these are extremely important traits for any potential intern, and I believe I possess these qualities as well, but many of these tweets fail to mention one important differentiator: passion. In a field where you’re constantly challenged and the workload is heavy, you need to remember why you wanted to join public relations in the first place: because you love it. I have a strong passion for public relations and strategic communications that I believe will take me far in the field. Every day, I am excited about new opportunities and the chance to make a difference. In addition to my passion, I believe I possess other qualities that make me an ideal #HBSI2013 candidate:

  •  I’m an optimistic, glass-is-half-full kind of person.  This infectious positivity not only helps get the job done, but gets it done efficiently.
  • I’m ethical. I don’t take the easy way out, I take the right way.
  • I am a perfectionist. If I believe any work is sub-par, I will work my butt off until I get the job done well, no questions asked.
  • I’m not afraid to admit when I make a mistake, to ask for help, or start things over if I know I can do better – I’m human, not bionic.

Obviously, skills and experience are two major indicators of whether a candidate is qualified for this position – I have both. My coursework at the University of Wisconsin – Madison has given me adequate knowledge about public relations, including classes in public relations, strategic communications, news writing, journalism and advertising. Plus, my internships with The Mx Group (a B2B marketing agency), as well as running a one-person marketing/public relations/social media team through the Morgridge Center for Public Service has helped me gain extensive experience. What’s more, I have successfully drafted and published a personal website, I run a personal blog, named ‘A Brunette on Branding’, completely focused on branding, public relations and marketing and I stay up-to-date on and discuss industry-related news on my professional Twitter. These skills and the experience I have gained through classes and internships solidify why I should be selected as a #HBSI2013 intern.

Burson-Marsteller, I promise that, given the opportunity to interview for this amazing opportunity, I will not let you down. I will give you my all and be authentic in doing so. I have the skills and experience necessary to complete this internship, and I possess many qualities that will help me excel. I also have a deep passion for public relations that keeps me driven, focused and hard-working. If I am chosen as a candidate for an interview for #HBSI2013, I am positive you will not be disappointed. Thank you.

About A Brunette on Branding

I am Amanda Burke: University of Wisconsin - Madison student, Life Sciences Communications major and novice blogger. Aside from my academic life, I am an Alpha Phi sister, undercover geek, Bulls fanatic, junk food lover and nail polish addict. A Brunette on Branding is a blog about brands. I deconstruct current marketing strategies, express my opinions on certain brands, and talk about what I think it takes to be successful in a world full of brand-hungry consumers. I’ll admit, I’m not an expert. But, I’ve found I have a knack for recognizing good branding techniques and want to express my own opinions on why I believe they work. It is my hope that through this blog I will: 1) educate other bloggers on branding 2) show branding experts my skills and 3) open the eyes of readers to the vast and complex world that is branding. Thank you in advance for visiting A Brunette on Branding. I hope I have given you a small insight on branding. I am open to any suggestions about my content, writing, layout, etc., as I am just starting out in this crazy world of blogging. Thanks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

